This is the "Assignment" page of the "Sophomore English Research Project" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Sophomore English Research Project  

Last Updated: Nov 30, 2015 URL: http://st-agnes.libguides.com/content.php?pid=555521 Print Guide RSS Updates
Assignment Print Page
  Search: 
 

Research Basics

A great place to start your on-line research is an encyclopedia.  You need to know the basics: who, what, when, where,  before you can begin researching the why, the how and what it all means.  Use Encyclopedia Britanica or Wickipedia as a great introduction to most topics. Read the whole article. Write down some vocabulary and then try:
1. EBSCO DISCOVERY SERVICE (for journals, reference books)
2. LITERATURE RESOURCE CTR (good scholarly criticism)
3. GALE VIRTUAL REFERENCE LIBRARY (for ebooks & reference articles)



GET PASSWORD SHEET TO ACCESS RESOURCES FROM HOME

 

BOOKS & E-BOOKS

Questia School
Questia School offers the premiere online library and research tools for high schools

Search more than 70,000 actual books with cover-to-cover access.

Unique research tutorials provide easy-to-follow instruction on how to research and write papers

LOGIN: your email address
PASSWORD: veritas

Ebrary gives you access to over 80,000 full-text books; perfect for research projects!

LOGIN: your ID#  
PASSWORD: veritas1

 

Your Research Assignment

Sophomore English Research Paper: app. 5 - 7 pages;  include a bibliography in MLA style).  See your teacher for specific requirements on number of sources and types.  Almost everything you need can be found through the SAA On-line Resource page. But don't forget to ask a librarian for help. We love research projects. 

 

Getting Started

ON-LINE DATABASES

These specially selected databases are the equivalent of books.  They are selected for their high academic and editorial standards.
TRY: The Gale Virtual Reference Library --full-text reference/research books ready to use and easy to access! (Count as books!)

OR TRY: The Ebsco Discovery Service and search across almost all of our trusted SAA databases with one search.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip